Gaming Journal: February 22, 2013 – The Return

fire-emblem-awakening-6

Power Cords is back this week! It’s been a few weeks since we’ve really posted much, but considering the excitement of the PS4 announcement and deluge or February/March game releases to look forward to, I felt the time was right to jump back in to the blogging realm. It’s been a few months since I posted another entry in my gaming journal series, but that isn’t just because we took a break from the blog itself.

Let’s face it, there haven’t been many games to come out these past couple months, and with a few exceptions the ones that have have been unspectacular. However, in that time I’ve purchased a 3DS, as well as gone back to some old gems — all of which I’ll cover in this post. One game I’ve been able to play is the fantastic 3DS tactical RPG, Fire Emblem AwakeningIt’s the first tactics game I’ve played since the original Disgaea, so it took a little bit to full immerse myself into Fire Emblem’s gameplay mechanics. It’s a very deep game, but the actual moment-to-moment gameplay is easy to understand. I’m on chapter 12 right now, and playing on classic, which has made the past couple chapters ulcer-inducing in their tension. I’ll put together a full length post of my impressions of the game soon, but over all Fire Emblem Awakening is a great game and I’m enjoying it quite a bit.

Another 3DS game I put some time into this week was the Master Quest for Ocarina of Time 3D. I completed the normal quest a few weeks ago, and last week I started up the Master Quest, and have made it up through the water temple (which is far less of a hassle in Master Quest). While I know the original Ocarina quest front to back, Master Quest is proving to be a challenge. There are some real head scratchers, and many of the puzzles are just plain weird (the cows in Jabu Jabu? pretty odd). I like the new dungeons, but at the end of the day it’s still Ocarina. 

mh3u_zinogre_004_thumb

The final game I played this week is yet another 3DS title. The demo for Monster Hunter 3U hit the eShop this week. While  the demo doesn’t feature the crafting or gathering from the full game (the most addictive aspect of the series for me), it does feature two really fun fights, as well as access to high-end hunter builds for each weapon class. If you’re a Monster Hunter fan, or curious about the series, check out the demo. If you’ve never been sold on the series, then you can probably pass it. I for one will be milking the demo until the full game hits March 19.

And that’s it for this week! I’ll be doing this more regularly again. My goal is to return to posting every Friday, but we’ll see. It all depends on time and how much I play. And keep an eye out for Shootin’ the Shit’s return this weekend as well!

Gaming Journal Stats:

Games Played This Week: Fire Emblem Awakening; The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time Master Quest; Monster Hunter 3U Demo

Games Completed

February 2013:

  • Vagrant Story

 January 2013:

  • The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3DS
  • Super Mario 3D Land
  • Persona 3

December 2012: 

  • The Elder Scrolls V: Dragonborn DLC

November 2012:

  • Halo 4 [+ Spartan Ops DLC]
  • Hotline Miami

October 2012:

  • Dark Souls [+ Artorias of the Abyss DLC]
  • DOOM
  • DOOM II: Hell on Earth
  • The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion [+The Shivering Isles]