Gaming Journal; Oct. 26, 2012

Defeated.

I beat Dark Souls.

It was a quick, surprisingly easy battle with Gwyn, Lord of Cinder. Myself and the ever-helpful WanderingMoogle, a fellow player who helped me out on more than one occasion. Thanks to you sir or madam (whomever you are).

But yeah, the battle was quick, easy, and the ending was appropriately brief. I’ve said it once, I’ll say it again: Dark Souls is a phenomenal game, and a great hardcore RPG experience. It’s not for everyone. but damn is it good. I’d say it’s tied with Skyrim as my favorite game of this generation (and that’s against games like Mass Effect 2, Rayman: Legends,  Metroid Prime 3, and Halo: Reach, just to name a few). I also completed the Artorias of the Abyss DLC. Took me  a few hours, but seeing as how it was the very last thing I did before Gwyn, it wasn’t too difficult to complete. The bosses were cool, and I liked the new areas pretty well, but if you decide to skip out on the content for now you’re not missing much. There are some cool secrets and plot lines, but it’s all pretty isolated and doesn’t pertain too much to the story other than giving some background by making you play through (and cause) events mentioned in the main story.

Obviously, after the game was over I immediately began NG+ as was astounded at the fact I completed in 45 minutes what it took me a few days to complete on my first character. Anyway, I’ll probably get a but further in NG+ then put Dark Souls down for a bit… but I’ll be back soon enough.

Need more of this in my life…

Other than Dark Souls I cranked out more Doom 3: BFG Edition and got some hands-on time with Odin Sphere. I’m enjoying both, but seeing as how both Hawken AND Mechwarrior Online begin their closed betas this weekend and Halo 4 is just a couple weeks away, I probably won’t get too much time with them for a few weeks. Neither game has really hooked me either, and to top it off have been hearing the siren call of Bethesda’s RPGs after the impressions for The Elder Scrolls: Online hit. I’m glad to hear that they’re changing up the combat; mostly that it won’t be standard MMO cooldowns, but more of a focused version of Skyrim’s combat. But more importantly, I’m very pleased to hear that players can, in fact, explore the world without too much restriction.

I could use a new RPG; Dark Souls is complete, and I have yet to get my hands on The Dark Spire, so maybe it’s time to return to Skyrim… or Cyrodiil… or Morrowind… or The Wasteland…

And let’s not forget: it’s Halloween next week. That means I’m gonna be playing a lot of Castlevania.

Games Played This Week: Dark Souls; Doom 3: BFG Edition; Odin Sphere

Games Completed

October 2012: 
  • Dark Souls [and Artorias of the Abyss DLC]

So yeah, that was my week. What did you guys play?

 
Leave a Reply

