Shootin’ the Shit, Oct. 19, 2012

Guys, Power Cords had it’s first birthday this week! While it was a rather busy week this week for me in terms of college and my “real job,” we still got a good batch of articles up for you guys. We also had a new episode of The Low Down!

I’d also like to take a moment to say publicly: Holy shit, The Walking Dead is good again. The season 3 opener made up for everything season 2 did wrong in 42 glorious, gore-soaked minutes. I’m definitely back on this show’s band wagon. Anyway, here’s what happened on the internet this week:

On the site

First and foremost, as I already mentioned, Power Cords had its 1 year birthday this week. Thank you to all the readers and followers for making the past 12 months so worthwhile and fulfilling!

Ch-ch-check out this week’s episode of The Low Down!

I wrote about the return of the old-school RPG. I’ve been rediscovering much of what I love about the genre, and thanks to evolutions in the gaming industry, the old-school RPG looks to be making a comeback.

Marshal gave us his impressions of David Fincher’s excellent Halo 4 live-action trailer. It’s got me even more excited for the game now, plus getting a look into the Chief’s backstory was great. It is clear 343i is pulling out all the stops.

I also started a weekly gaming journal. The first post went up to day, and chonicles my weekly game playing and completion. This week, I eek closer to the end of Dark Souls and jump into Doom 3: BFG Edition.

Things I read

I wasn’t able to read as much this week as I would’ve liked, but (once again) this piece by Giantbomb’s Patrick Klepek about video game authorship is fascinating. It’s part of a larger running feature Klepek has been doing on games criticism and reviews — something very much in line with my interests and my plans for the future.

Videos I watched

The latest episode of Red Versus Blue ended with yet another emotional punch to the gut. I find myself wondering where the series is headed; big changes seem to be occurring weekly. I was mistaken when i said this week was the season finale — we’ve still got a few more left before closing out season 10.

Like pretty much everyone else, I watched a dude jump from outer space back down to Earth. Awe inspiring.

Cool games that came out

Doom 3: BFG Edition — This sci-fi action/horror FPS is one of my personal favorite games of the past decade. The collection includes Doom, Doom II: Hell on Earth, Doom 3, Doom 3: Resurrection of Evil, and a brand new mini-campaign Doom 3: The Lost Mission.

Misc.

At my other writing gig, I did a review for the math rock duo Cleft’s new EP Whale Bone. Dig it here.

This Bioshock Infinite table top game looks kinda cool.

Fact: Sleep have been opening their shows with clips from Carl Sagan’s The Universe series before plunging into “Dopesmoker,” “Dragronaut,” and other beastly jams. Heaviest. Fucking. Band. Ever.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

