Shootin’ the Shit — October 12, 2012

Yuuuuuup! I’m doin’ this! I got some good feedback on the first entry, and had a lot of fun putting it together, so I think I’ll make this a regular thing for the foreseeable future.

You may have noticed that the content was skewed heavily towards the latter half of the week and there was sadly no new episode of The Low Down, but hey, it was better than nothing. We’ve pretty much worked out the major kinks we’ve be hit with in the past couple weeks, so at the very least you’ll be getting plenty more content from myself here on out.

ANYWAY! Here’s what matter to me on the internet this week:

Stuff I said

Sadly, I’ve found myself parted from my beloved Dark Souls for a few days. To fill the massive void, I did a double review of a couple hardcore dungeon crawler RPGs, The Dark Spire, and Etrian Odyssey II.  

After years of devotion, I think I’m done with Blizzard’s games now…

You know what sucks? Videogame graphics.

Stuff I read

Proving once again to be one of my favorite voices at my personal favorite gaming site, Giant Bomb’s Patrick Klepick interviews the modders who took Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition from busted PC port to fully-featured masterpiece.

Speaking of the hey-day of Blizzard, apparently there was almost a Diablo prequel on the Gameboy.

In the biggest bummer of the week, scientists confirm they cannot currently clone dinosaurs

…but in order to make up for it, are now performing experiments to find out if we are, in fact, in The Matrix!

Stuff I watched

The Mega64 guys do it again, this time providing October scares with their Alan Wake video:

While he may no longer be developing games at Epic, Cliffy B’s still got his finger on the pulse of game development, Tweeting out this awesome video of a first person shooter using all physics-based movement — no animations at all. Very impressive, and shows off where games may be headed:

Awesome games that came out this week:

Three really awesome games came out this week. I hope to get some hands-on time with each in the future:

Dishonored — an open-ended stealth FPS; Theif, Half Life 2, and Bioshock blended into one sick Bethesda game.

XCOM: Enemy Unknown – a reboot of sorts of the classic turn-based strategy game. Enemy Unknown keeps with tradition in that it’s hard as hell.

Retro City Rampage – an indie game modeled after the early Grand Theft Autos and bursting at the seams with retro-gaming references.

Misc.

I reviewed Enslaved’s new record, RIITIIR for Beard Rock. At this point, it’s the best album I’ve heard all year.

Finally, a few quick notes: first and foremost, there WILL be a new episode of The Low Down next week, so keep an eye out for that. In addition, as I mentioned on monday, we will be recording a new episode of The Power Cast as well! Next week is shaping up to be pretty crazy.

That’s it for this week. We’ll be back on Monday to give you plenty of stuff to waste your time on. I’m out!

Leave a Reply

