Shootin’ The Shit with Power Cords EIC Brendan!

Hey guys,

So last week was a bit slow. Nonetheless, we had a new episode of The Low Down, talked about some Halo 4 news (of course), and reviewed the first volume of the awesome comic series Orc Stain. This week, we’ll be sure to make up for for the slowness of the past month or so. To kick it off and get some good content flowing, here’s a bunch of quick thoughts that didn’t (or haven’t yet to) get full posts:

Gaming: 

I know I’m super late to the party, but damn, I really hope the rumors on Half Life 3 pan out. Can you imagine: a game set in the Half Life universe with the design and gameplay sensibilities derived from The Elder Scrolls, but with the polish and impeccable design we’ve come to expect from Valve. Might just be the best game ever made. I’ve got plenty more to say on the subject, so keep an eye out for that.

Dishonored looks freakin’ rad, and I’m really glad it’s getting good reviews. Definitely on my need-to-play list for this holiday season.

This video gave me goose bumps so hard I almost cried. Seriously, do we need any more proof that gaming is not only part of the mainstream, but a legitimate creative medium now?

A year later, I’m still playing Dark Souls. Mostly, it’s because the holiday reviews season is beginning and I’ll (hopefully) be playing tons of good games in the coming weeks and months and therefore want to finally knock this one out, but damn is Dark Souls great. It’s also worth noting that Dark Souls was our very first review, published almost a year ago.

Site news:

Speaking of which, we’re just a couple weeks shy of our 1 year anniversary. It’s hard to believe that it was over a year ago I was juggling the idea of starting a blog with my friends, and seeing how much we’ve done in 12 short months makes me excited to see where we’ll be in another 12.

Good news: we’ll be recording new episodes of the Power Cast this weekend! I’m planning and hoping we’ll get a few done so we can have a few to release in the coming weeks and keep you loyal readers and listeners entertained. We’re still not 100% ready to be recording full-time, but if recent event are any indication, we will be very soon.

We also recently published a new page that’s all about the Power Cords team. Go check it out and get to know us a little better. There’s also a link for any of you interested in writing for us!

Misc.:

The latest episode of Red Versus Blue is awesome. I can’t believe there’s only one more episode left this season…

I’ve been rather busy writing album reviews for Beardrock.com. You can read all my reviews here. It’s a pretty permanent gig, so stay tuned there to read more reviews from me in the future, and just check out the site — it’s really rad, and there’s a ton of great writers talking about good music and I’m super excited to be a part of it.

Aaannnd that’s kinda it for me. Hopefully you guys found some of these blurbs interesting. Let me know if you guys like this sort of thing in the comments (you know who you are). I might mess around with the format and make this a regular thing, we’ll see. Things change ’round these parts all the time, so who knows. Anyway, have a week!

Excelsior!

5 thoughts on “Shootin’ The Shit with Power Cords EIC Brendan!

    1. Thanks man! And dude, yeah, it’s gotta be nuts. They’ve already been talking about season 11. Well, kinda. Mostly just that it’s entering pre-production and stuff.

Leave a Reply

