Saying goodbye to MCA.

There’s not a lot to say here that hasn’t already been said. MCA lost his near-three year battle with cancer last Friday.

It was an odd day. I was home visiting my Mother for her birthday, enjoying being around my family and taking a break from classes and work. I had been spinning my new copy of Sleep’s Dopesmoker reissue, and just relaxing. Got on twitter, and perhaps fittingly, read a Tweet from Elijah Wood offering words and well wishes for Adam Yauch and his family. MCA had passed.

My weekend took a sudden and sharp turn.

I grew up in the ’90s; I never got to see The Beasties live (a dream of mine which had only grown in recent years), never listened to their records on vinyl, and never watched their videos on MTV at the height of their career. I didn’t grow up in Brooklyn or immerse myself in hip-hop growing up. Yet, despite being a die-hard metal head, I can say with absolute certainty that The Beastie Boys were the first group I ever knew by name; “Intergalactic” was the first music video I really got into; and Licensed to Ill was the first rap CD I ever owned. The Beastie Boys, for all intents and purposes, were my first favorite band, and played a heavy roll in my teenage years. To this day, no group has been more listened to or remained in my library longer than them. Even as I grew up and discovered new music, The Beasties were always a band I counted on — whether their rap verses, instrumental music, or early punk tunes, there is no era of the group I don’t enjoy.

To hear MCA is no longer with us was one of the hardest things to swallow. I never thought I’d be living in a world without all three Beastie Boys, yet for every day forward, that’s exactly the world I’ll be waking up to every morning. I’m not trying to be dramatic, but for every fan of MCA and the Beasties, the world will just never be quite the same. We’ve lost a hip-hop legend, a creative mastermind, and just an awesome dude.

Adam ‘ MCA’ Yauch, being a practicing Buddhist, spread the word of compassion and patience through some of the best music made throughout the last few decades. I hope that he gets to party as hard in his next life as he did in this one.

Rest in peace MCA.

Leave a Reply

