Move of the Week March 6, 2012: The Game

It’s time for another Movie of the Week! We’re getting a head start on the week. Today, the new guy Marshal continues to show us how great his taste in film is with a rundown of the David Fincher thriller, The Game.

I love a movie that makes me think. Unfortunately, there’s not an excessive amount of those original, intellectual thrillers coming out regularly enough to satisfy me, so I am constantly searching for an old mind-bender to wrap my head around.

Recently, I stumbled on a fantastic film directed by David Fincher called The Game.

What it is: The Game was released in 1997 and was one of the pre-Fight Club Fincher films so generally it didn’t get too much attention which I am very surprised about. This movie is one giant adrenaline rush that will have you questioning every single event along the way. The Game stars Michael Douglas playing the role of Nicholas Van Orton, a man who supposedly has everything. His birthday roles around and his brother, played by Sean Penn, gives him a peculiar gift: the Game. Now, I can’t go into too much detail without ruining the plot or revealing what the Game is, but The Game is one of the best mind-bending thrillers I have seen in a long time. While Douglas plays a character that many people logically wouldn’t be able to connect to, he is able to make the viewer feel like you are in his shoes as he goes crazy.

Why I love it: I pride myself on being able to predict the endings of most films and figuring out the twist before anyone, but the ending of this film completely blind-sighted me, something that doesn’t happen too often. The Game drags you along for the ride, whether you want it to or not, on this fast paced mind-fuck and will have you on the edge of your seat until the final minutes of the film. Unfortunately, part of the thrill of the film is the terror and insanity of story so it is significantly less exciting the second time around compared to other Fincher films such as Se7en, where you develop a better understanding the story the more you watch it.

The Game is one of the better thrillers I have seen in a long time and would recommend it to any one who appreciates getting there mind blown. Because the re-watch value is so low though I would recommend only renting it or checking it on the Netflix instant queue compared to buying it.

One thought on “Move of the Week March 6, 2012: The Game

Leave a Reply

